Reviews

[Blog Tour] The Ghost Road by Charis Cotter

the ghost road tour

37569920The Ghost Road

 Author: Charis Cotter

 Release Date: September 4, 2018

 Publisher: Tundra Books

Format: ARC

Source: Penguin Random House Canda

divider-newSummary:

Ghosts, a family curse, buried secrets — and two girls who have to figure it all out. A new book from an acclaimed author, for fans of Coraline, Doll Bones and The Night Gardener.

For the first time, Ruth is heading to Newfoundland to stay with family she’s never met instead of spending the summer traveling with her dad. When she arrives, she finds Newfoundland is very different from her life in Toronto–people there are much more friendly, but also superstitious, believing in ghosts and The Sight and family curses. Ruth’s cousin Ruby is also staying for the summer, and the two discover they have a lot in common: they both lost their moms when they were two years old, they’re the same age and they even like the same food. But while Ruby believes in spirits and fairies, Ruth believes in science and cold, hard facts.

When they find ominous information on some tombstones in the local cemetery, Ruth and Ruby start investigating their family’s past and discover that twin girls are born in every generation, and every set of twins dies young, leaving their children without mothers. What’s more, one of the twins always has The Sight and can see the Ghost Road that leads to the mysterious lost settlement of Slippers Cove. What happened there? What does it have to do with their family? And who is the ghostly presence that keeps visiting Ruth late at night?

The answers lie somewhere along the Ghost Road . . . if they can only find it. (Goodreads)

divider-new

Review:

*I received an advance copy of this book from Penguin Random House Canda in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion.*

If you know me, you know I love a good middle grade. Some of the best escapades I’ve ever read are written for that age group. The Ghost Road is no exception.

The characters in this story are so great. Each one of them is lively and feels as if they could actually be real. I especially loved how Ruth and Ruby were startlingly similar to look at but so drastically different in personality.

The plot was complex and had me not wanting to put the book down for anything. Cotter got my attention with the beautiful setting at the very beginning and only ensnared me further with each new revelation about Ruth, her family, and their history. It was great to watch Ruth navigate through becoming used to a place so different from the home she is used to as well. (As a Torontonian, I can only imagine the shock she had arriving somewhere so decidedly different!)

The Ghost Road is entertaining, spooky, fast-paced, and a great read for fall, even though it takes place in the summer! If seeing the Halloween decorations out in late August didn’t get you in the mood (looking at you, Michaels) then definitely pick this book up!

divider-new

transparent signature

Advertisements

One thought on “[Blog Tour] The Ghost Road by Charis Cotter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s